Posted on

A SENSE OF AN ENDING

Ventilation towers on the roof of Casa Milà de...

NOT VERY FAR FROM THESE WARRIORS A GENTLEMENT WITH AN EXQUISITE USE OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE MADE A CONFERENCE.

All this crisis in the eurozone, the Arab countries and now even in the streets of Wall Street make me have a sense of an ending of something. So when some days ago I knew that Julian Barnes had a novel called THE SENSE OF AN ENDING I wonder if the novel had connection with my sense of an ending.

Now he has won the MAN BOOKER PRIZE and that makes me happy and sad. It makes me happy because some years ago he came to Barcelona and I went to a conference of his. I think that the conference took place in La Pedrera, a building by Gaudí. But I went to two conferences with British writers so I am not sure in which one I saw him. Nonethe less I remember that in one conference the writer was a gentleman and I love the way he spoke and his manners. It was very delightful and you seemed to be in England. The way he spoke English made English look as a very wonderful and refined language. I think that the writer was Julian Barnes. But then, who was the other writer in the other conference? I remember that in the other conference I did not feel so well. Who knows, maybe that was the one of Julian Barnes. So I am confused! I know that about 2005 Julian Barnes published Arthur and George. The name of the novel and the gentle look of Julian Barnes in the photos makes me think he was the writer that made the delightful conference.

It seems that his new novel is related to loses of memory. As I have also lost memory I recommend anyone attending conferences to write nots about them so that in the future they know where they were. To buy the books of the writers would do too, of course.

Leave a Reply

