Posted on

SPANISH BAILOUT: BEHIND THE CURTAINS

Mariano Rajoy en Bilbao. Imagen tomada por Ike...

Mariano Rajoy en Bilbao. Imagen tomada por Iker Parriza (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I hope very much that Angela Merkel and Mariano Rajoy write in some years their memories about their time as chancellor and prime minister respectively. By doing so we will be able to know, or not, what has happened this days.

In fact. It is all so weird. As you know Spain has not asked for a bailout but it seems that it is going to ask for it! Some hours ago The Guardian said that this Saturday Spain would ask for a bailout. Now the BBC says that Spain won’t ask for a bailout.

So it is all full of secrecy and mystery.

What worries me is that in the same way that the citizens we don’t know what is happening maybe we are not the only ones!

Is it possible that Angela Merkel really does not know what Spain is going to do next?

I like Mariano Rajoy to be free to act and not do just what Angela Merkel tells him but at the same time I would be quite afraid if Maraino Rajoy just does not listen to Angela Merkel!

It is wrong that Spain just acts as an slave from Germany but I find it would be wrong too to act without having a European vision!

Spain is inside the European Union and shares a currency with 16 other countries.

I do not know what to think. First I was happy for Mariano Rajoy not to ask for a bailout. It seemed that it is better to reach June 17th, the day of Greek poll, without being under a bailout. On the other hand it seems that some say it is needed that Spain has the bailout before the Greek voting because it would be too much for Europe to have the Greek voting NO to bailout conditions and Spain on a limbo.

So, I have a lot of doubts but what is going on inside Spanish government headquarters?

It must be crazy! Mariano Rajoy IS FOR SURE having a call from BRUSSELS AND BERLIN each morning and each afternoon. Even Japan and the US maybe  ringing Madrid. Spies should also being trying to know what Rajoy is saying!

As I am writing this in Madrid maybe now there is a big quarrel between Mariano Rajoy, De Guindos and Montoro. And even Rubalcaba I am sure he is phoning Rajoy too to know what is going on!

This is pure material for a bestseller! I beg Mariano Rajoy and company that they take a photo of their current meeetings! This photo is precious for future generations!

Sometimes I have the feeling that everything is under control. That Angela Merkel knows perfectly well what Mariano Rajoy is going to do. But is this so? Because I am sure that Obama has phoned Merkel maybe to ask if she knows what Rajoy has decided?

I don’t know Mariano Rajoy but I imagine that I have a better idea about him than most people from outside Spain. So let me share how I see him so that you can imagine what is going on.

Mariano Rajoy is a very tall man. This can be important or not but when I see him next to other European politicians he gives a high image … of him.

In politics I see him as a man that avoids problems if possible. He is known for not being very much on the right of the Spanish right. He is not Aznar at all.

One think to take into account is her wife. Her wife has a very sweet look and she looks as a very nice sensible sweet person. When I saw an image of her wife I thought immediately that a man with such a wife must have a tender site hidden under his current hard looks. So, the woman next to Mariano Rajoy is maybe now the best asset that rajoy can have! I am such she brings calm to him. He was very lucky.

A lot has been said that Mariano Rajoy is been very proud. Well, yes, Mariano Rajoy is a proud man but I am sure he knows that the future of Spain is in Europe so that we are not with somebody crazy. He is a man from the right party in Spain but he is not the right in his party! He must have something when he has been able to remain as head of the right party. Powerful people in the party would have liked to put him down.

I just hope that Mariano Rajoy, if he is alone in Europe and at odds with Merkel now, he has at least the support of Rubalcaba.

Rubalcaba is a very wise politician from the left. He is very good in explaining the things. I hope very much that whatever it happens in Spain with the bailout Rubalcaba and Rajoy have agreed!

In any case, I hope Rajoy listens to Angela Merkel. I don’t know her but I trust my German friends. They were nice people. I have the feeling that Germany should be listened and trusted. They seem to me nice people. A bit hard sometimes but nice and responsible people.

 

 

Leave a Reply

