Posted on

THE HISTORY OF THE EURO

Cypriot euro coins are the first to include tw...

Cypriot euro coins are the first to include two separate languages on the national side Although the Finnish euro coins also have a bilingual print on the € 2 coin edge (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As the collapse of the euro seems to come closer and closer even if we do oppose it THE.CAT has tought that THE.CAT could be a website about the history of the euro. After all THE.CAT contains the word THE and T.H.E could stand for The History of the Euro.

So in THE.CAT I could explain to future generations the history of the euro: how it was born with so much hope, how it lived during more than a decade and how it finally collapsed.

Some may say that although the euro is ill, I am almost killing it before it has legally died. Well, it is true. I am writing about the euro and the euro is still alive. But this is what makes me feel a need to write now. After the euro dies you have all the eternity to write about the history of the euro. But to write about the euro when it was still alive seems to me an exceptional occasion. Even more, when the euro could collapse at any time.

As I have had the privileged to have lived in the eurozone at all times related to the euro maybe I could also write about my personal experiences:

I could write about the first time I took euros frm a cash machine. I am sure that a lot of Europeans remember that. It was such a special occasion.

I also could write about the first time I pay with euros.

I also could write about that time when you could pay with euros or the old currency.

I also could write about how I began to find all very cheap as the euro meant less digits in Barcelona.

And of course I could also write about the last days of the euro. The first bad news coming from Greece. etc

And I also could do something. I could put photos of the coins. Coins of 17 different countries. It is amazing how beautiful are some of them. And there are some that maybe few peoplw know them. I also could write about all the different coins in detail.

I could also write about the exchange between the euro and the dollar and pound during this last years.

So quite soon the history of the euro could be found not only in Wikipedia but also in THE.CAT.

 

Leave a Reply

