Posted on

THE.CAT LONDON LINKS

In some hours teh opening ceremony will start … and here in THE.CAT I want to have all the links I like to follow the news coming from London. More that the Olympics I am interested in the city of London so for me the Olympic games are a good opportunity to get news from London.

First of all, let me tell that I have read webpages that say that it is possible to watch BBC tv outside the UK through Internet. It is even possible to watch it  through a mobile under some circumstances. Once that said here are the links that I am looking to use and that I am sharing with anyone reading this post:

BBC WEBSITE:

The BBC is for me a very good source of information but now what it is good for me is to know really what part to look at! So here I have some links:

BBC ONE. Perfect to watch the opening ceremony. If you cannot see it outside the UK (although it is possible as I read in some webpages!) you could try to listen to some BBC RADIO as BBC RADIO 5 .

As I said before I read in some websites that it was possible to watch BBC tv outside the UK but now I have read a news on the GUARDIAN website that makes me afraid that maybe we BBC TV or BBC RADIO programmes related to the Olympic games won’t be broadcast to an international audience. It the website from the BBC thinks you are outside the UK you may read:

“The BBC’s agreement with the International Olympic Committee means we are not allowed to broadcast anything online outside the UK from the Olympic Park or Olympic venues.

“As a result, this programme may need to be blanked for International listeners due to rights issues surrounding Olympic content in programmes.”

A good place to know what the Londoners feel about what is going on in London can be LBC radio. There is a lot of talk and people call and they talk about a lot of issues some related to the Olympic and London, etc.

Another interesting website to know more about London is the TRANSPORT FOR LONDON website or FTL. There you may find maps of the tube, the buses. Another option is to go to Google Maps and choose transit.

The Olympic Park is in Stratford. As far as I know it can be reached, for example, throgh the Central Line, the Jubilee Line, the DLR. It is quite interesting to know about the past of the place where the Olympic park is placed. It seems it is in a marsh of the Lee river. The Thames can be very famous but I feel more excited about this Lee river and its surroundings. After all, one of the best things of England is its landscape.

If you have nostalgia of London you can also watch a torch relay through London. I have found this link to a torch relay with map included from Candem to Westminster: http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchrelay/day69

Let me now go to the official website of the London 2012 Olympic games: http://www.london2012.com
To move through London I use to go to TFL but I see that in the official Olympic games website they also have a Journey planner. I tried it and it gave me different options from Piccadilly Circus to the Olympic Stadium. It also mention the existence of the GAMES TRAVELCARD.

I have found a webpage at THE GUARDIAN where you can see photos of the past and of the present of the place where the Olympic park is now: http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/interactive/2012/jul/27/olympic-regeneration-legacy-stratford

Leave a Reply

