Posted on

THE STREETS OF CATALONIA ARE FULL OF INDEPENDENCE FLAGS

If I look through the window I see four independence Catalan flags or estelades. If I go through the streets you see a lot of these flags here and there. It is true that most of the balconies do not have flags but it is also true that never before I had seen independent flags through the streets!

Some years ago maybe you could walk 30 minutes through the Catalan streets and maybe you could find maybe one or two independence flags or maybe none.

Now it has become quite trendy!

Quite strangely when I see these flags I remember the streets of Madrid one day I was there and the Spanish football team was playing in South Africa where it finally won.

Catalonia has independence fever and you can like it or not but that it is the truth. Just open a window, go to the street, watch TV and the independence of Catalonia is everywhere.

Are there Spanish flags in Catalonia?

Well, let me tell that I saw one yesterday! It was in a building next to a road with a lot of traffic and not very wealthy. It was a very big flag maybe twice the size of the Catalan flags you see in the balconies. But I just saw only one Spanish flag when I saw maybe 100 Catalan and independence flags the same day.

All these flags are in the balconies since September 11th 2012. Before I used to see just one independent flag from the window. it was nothing in comparison with now but it already indicated that something was changing as before never had I seen independent flags.

I wonder how people in a house agree to put such a flag in the balcony. Do all the people of the house agree or they just vote? Why we do not see more Spanish flags? Does that mean that the people who feel Spanish are afraid of expressing themselves or is it that as we are yet inside Spain they do not see the need to put the flag?

As I have moved through some towns and streets in Catalonia I have realized that people used to put flags where other people put flags. The center of towns are very typical. In residential areas next to the beach you do not see so many maybe because the houses are now empty. I also have realised few Catalan flags in some poor neighbourhoods. I thought this would be the first to want independence as it seems independence is needed because we need more money for Catalonia. In contrast the wealthy part of town seems fuller of independent flags,

Leave a Reply

