Posted on

DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO DECLARE MYSELF A NEW STATE?

Imagine that THE.CAT declares itself a new state. I know this sounds crazy but imagine I do. What could happen next?

Well, I imagine that nobody would care so although THE.CAT would want to declare itself independent that would not change anything.

So my conclusion is that for THE.CAT to succeed declaring itself as a new state I would need others to recognise me.

Imagine that my current state does not recognise me. It tells me that I belong to it for eternity  and that I cannot decide for myself.

Imagine, however, that the rest of states recognise me. If that happened then it is obvious that the problem would be not mine but that of the state that would remain alone not recognising my independence.

Needless to say that THE.CAT does not want to declare itself an independent state. I would have not enough money to open any embassy and it would be too much for THE.CAT to be the president of the new state, the lawyer of the new state, the voter of the new state, the demonstrator of the new state, the beggar of the new state. The policeman of the new state. The soldier of the new state. The singer of the new state. I would be too much busy. Maybe that is one of the reasons why few people declare themselves its own state. Too much trouble.

Imagine now that THE.CAT has heard some people they want to create their new state. As I see that myself it is going to be impossible to create my own state I could join them. Things look simple this way but it happens that while you try to build this new state people from the current state try to stop you by all means. Should I surrender then and do nothing and let win the ones who do not respect the creation of my own castle and want me to play in their own castle.

Should I surrender to Spain or should I help Catalonia to create a new state? Who should I listen to? Those that want me to remain with them threatening me or to join those who now finally imagine a state where finally the languages are seing as something positive?

Should I remain with the ones who want to force me to be part of them or should I join those who want people to be free to decide their future? Should I be true to the ones who live in my town, my county or even in my beautiful Barcelona or should I be with those who live quite far from me? Should I accept to be a slave of people in Madrid?

I like to visit Madrid. I love Madrid. As I love Paris or London. But as I do not want to be ruled from Buenos Aires neither do I wan to be ruled from Madrid. One thing is to share a language and another is to accept a forced marriage.

I hope one day Madrid thinks why so many parts of the once Spanish empire have at some point wanted independence. If Spain gives its back to an independent Catalonia we have people from Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay, Colombia, Venezuela, Panamá, Costa Rica, Cuba, etc to talk to. We do not need Spain to speak Castilian! At least not this Spain!

Leave a Reply

